About IEEE

IEEE is the world’s largest professional association dedicated to advancing technological innovation and excellence for the benefit of humanity. IEEE and its members inspire a global community through IEEE’s highly cited publications, conferences, technology standards, and professional and educational activities.

IEEE, pronounced “Eye-triple-E,” stands for the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. The association is chartered under this name and it is the full legal name. To learn more about the association’s name, for more information please read the History of IEEE.

Brief History of the SA Section

IEEE South Australia Section was chartered in 1986 with Dr Don Sinnott (now FIEEE) the Foundation Chair. Since that time it has grown steadily in membership and activity from 154 (1987) to more than 400 today (see Membership statistics). It is one of the smaller Sections numerically within Australia, and is larger than Nth Queensland and ACT Sections.

Past Chairs:

  • Don Sinnott, 1986 – 1988
  • Harry Green, 1989 – 1991
  • D. (Nanda) Nandagopal, 1992- 1994
  • Noel Martin, 1995- 1997
  • Andrew Parfitt, 1998
  • Bevan Bates, 1999 – 2001
  • Michael Evans, 2002 – 2004
  • Zia Ahmed, 2005 – 2006
  • Arek Dadej, 2007 – 2008
  • Leigh Powis, 2009 – 2010