The IEEE Photonics Society Awards Program advances the interests of its members by recognizing their contributions in advancing the fields of interest to the benefit of society.  Awards have been established to recognize outstanding achievements and for those accomplishments which enhance the quality of life for all people throughout the world. These awards may be presented annually when, in the judgment of the Awards committee, suitable candidates are available.  These awards are presented by the Photonics Society President at the IEEE Photonics conference,or by a designee at an IEEE technical conference or symposium as recommended by the relevant selection committee.  The IPS Awards Program relies upon the expertise and support of volunteers to continue to recognize the technological advancements that have advanced society.

Please note that no candidate shall have previously received a major IEEE award (e.g. technical field awards, medals) for the same work.  Previous winners of a Photonics Society Career Award (Aron Kressel, Engineering Achievement, Quantum Electronics, William Streifer Scientific Achievement) are not eligible candidates for consideration of the same work.