

QUEENSLAND SECTION THE INSTITUTE OF ELECTRICAL AND ELECTRONICS ENGINEERS INC. ARBN 078 576 495

Prof Tapan Saha - Section Chair	Dr Rahul Sharma— Secretary	
IEEE Queensland.	IEEE Queensland	
Phone: 0733653962, 0422001378	Phone: 3365 7240	
Fax: 07 - 33654999	Fax:	
Email: saha@itee.uq.edu.au	Email: rahul.sharma@uq.edu.au	

Minutes of Meeting 12th February 2012 Venue: UQ General Purpose (South) Building, Room 78-421

Attendance:

Office	Attendance	Present	Apology	Absent
Chair	Tapan Saha	X		
Vice Chair	Mike Robinson	X		
Secretary	Rahul Sharma	X		
Treasurer	Ruifeng (Richard) Yan	X		
Immediate Past Chair	Abbas Bigdeli		X	
Newsletter Editor	Robert Ellen		X	
Webmaster	Nilesh Modi	X		
Professional Activities	Vacant			
Membership Development chair	Chandima Ekanayake	X		
Awards & Recognition	Mike Robinson	X		
Student Activities Chair	Vacant			
Educational Activities Chair	Vacant			
Engineers Australia Liaison	Tapan Saha	X		
Women in Engineering	Mary Tom			X
Women in Engineering (Vice chair)	Sandra Mau		X	
Women in Engineering (Secretary)	Mahnaz Shafiei			X
Aerospace and Electronic Systems Chapter	Garry Einicke	X		
Aerospace and Electronic Systems Chapter (VC)	Steve Ashfield			X
Aerospace and Electronic Systems Chapter (Sec)	John Davies			X
Computational Intelligence Chapter	Ross Haywood			X
Computational Intelligence Chapter (VC)	Vacant			
Computational Intelligence Chapter (Sec)	Vacant			
Computer Chapter	Mike Robinson	X		
Computer Chapter (VC)	Vacant			
Computer Chapter (Sec)	Vacant			
Control Sys/Robo & Auto Chapter	John Billingsley	X		
Control Sys/Robo & Auto Chapter (VC)	Vacant			
Control Sys/Robo & Auto Chapter (Sec)	Vacant			
Engineering in Medicine & Biology Chapter	Vacant			
Engineering in Med & Biology Chapter (VC)	Vacant			
Engineering in Med. & Biology Chapter (Sec)	Vacant			
MTT/AP Chapter	Konstanty Bialkowski	X		
MTT/AP Chapter (VC)	David Ireleand			X
MTT/AP Chapter (Secretary)	Morteza Shahpari		X	
Power & Energy Chapter	Mehdi Eghbal	X		
Power & Energy Chapter (VC)	Chandima Ekanayake	X		
Power & Energy Chapter (Secretary)	Nilesh Modi	X		
Power and Energy Chapter (Student rep)				
Signal Pro & Comms Chapter	Vaughan Clarkson	X		
Signal Pro & Comms Chapter (VC)	Dhammika Jayalath		X	

Signal Pro & Comms Chapter (Sec)	Vacant		
GOLD Affinity Group	Alexandra Price	X	
GOLD Affinity Group (VC)	Vacant		
GOLD Affinity Group (Sec)	Vacant		
Student Counsellor QUT	Jacob Coetzee		X
Student Counsellor UQ	Vaughan Clarkson	X	
Student Counsellor GU-GC			
Student Counsellor GU-Nathan			
Student Counsellor USQ			
Student Counsellor CQU – Brisbane	Mary Tom		X
Student Counsellor CQU – Rockhampton	Aruna Jayasuriya		X

Chair (TKS):

Targets for membership, finance and activities discussed,

- Membership: 10% growth targeted in 2013, activities to promote IEEE such as at EA discussed; breakdown of chapter-wise membership to be circulated TKS/CE.
- Finance: Revenue generation to be targeted in 2013.
- Activities: Minimum of 6 events per year to be aimed by each chapter, review to be performed every 3 months.

TIPS (MJR):

Financial requirements to train teachers discussed; Australian Power Institute (API) to be approached for the support – TKS/MJR.

Chapter Success tips (TKS/ME):

- Approach people outside the university
- Be proactive
- Industry engagement
- Joint events with Engineers Australia

Student counsellor success (VC):

- Student encouragement
- Social events and recruitment drive

Treasurer:

The four signatures required to operate the bank account are Tapan K Saha, Abbas Bigdeli, Ruifeng (Richard) Yan and Mike J Robinson.

Other items discussed:

- Committee support for Jim Everden's application for elevation to IEEE senior member discussed.

Previously agreed actions (November 2012): Authority to open a new sub-account,

- Purpose of the account: ICIP-2013
- Names of signatories: Abbas Bigdeli and Brian Lovell
- Account type: Cybersaver account
- Access type: Internet only access (both Abbas Bigdeli and Brian Lovell to sign)