QUEENSLAND SECTION



THE INSTITUTE OF ELECTRICAL AND ELECTRONICS ENGINEERS INC.

ARBN 078 576 495

Dr. Abbas Bigdeli — Section Chair	Dr. Mandar Gujrathi— Secretary
National ICT Australia Ltd.	School of ITEE,
Level 5, Axon Building	University of Queensland
Staff House Road, St Lucia,	Brisbane,
Qld 4072	Queensland 4072
Phone: (07) 3300 8541	Phone: 33652425
Fax: (07) 3300 8420	Fax: 33654999
Email: abbas.bigdeli@ieee.org	Email: m.gujrathi@uq.edu.au

Date: 25th November 2010 Time 5.30pm Venue: Staff Club, University of Queensland

Minutes for the AGM 2010

- 1 Opening and welcome-Chair Meeting commenced at 5:30pm. Chaired by Dr. Abbas Bigdeli.
- 1.1 Dinner arrangement and SeminarRS and AB outline the arrangement for the evening.
- 2 Confirmation of minutes of the last AGM Minutes were not available as the previous secretary had resigned.
- 3 Business arising from the AGM None.
- 4 Announcement of Election results-Chair AB announces the election results for 2011 committee.
- 5 Award Ceremony- Chair and Awards & Recognition Chair

Michael Lees presented numerous awards for service to the Queensland Section.

Recognition of Service

A total of 16 Recognition of Service awards were awarded within the Queensland section during 2010. Most of them were presented in November at the section AGM.

Award Recipient	Contribution
Dr. Mark Griffin	Student Activities Chair Queensland Section 2009
Mr. Robert Ellen	Inaugural Chair AESS Chapter Queensland Section 2008-2009
Dr. Peter Lindsay	Inaugural Vice Chair AESS Chapter Queensland Section 2009
Mr. Simon Ellis	Chair Computer Chapter Queensland Section 2008- 2009
Dr. Philip Machanick	Vice Chair Computer Chapter Queensland Section 2008-2009
Dr. Duncan Campbell	Chair Joint CSS R&A Chapter Queensland Section

	2008-2009
Dr. Aleksandar Rakic	Chair MTT/AP Chapter Queensland Section 2008-2009
Dr. Karla Ziri-Castro	Vice Chair MTT/AP Chapter Queensland Section 2008-2009
Dr. Jose Lopez-Roldan	Chair PES Chapter Queensland Section 2009
Dr. Tapan Saha	Vice Chair PES Chapter Queensland Section 2009
Dr. Garry Einicke	Chair Joint SP/Comms Chapter Queensland Section 2008-2009
Dr. Dhammika Jayalath	Vice Chair Joint SP/Comms Chapter Queensland Section 2008-2009
Mr. Robert Ellen	Chair GOLD Affinity group Queensland Section 2008-2009
Mr. Roelof Swanepoel	Vice Chair GOLD Affinity group Queensland Section 2008-2009
Mr. Peter McLarty	Membership Coordinator Queensland Section 2005- 2009
Dr. Andrew Thomas	Student Counsellor UQ Queensland Section 2008-2009

Outstanding Contribution Award

Two *Outstanding Contribution* awards were awarded within the Queensland section during 2010. They were presented in December at the section AGM.

Award Recipient	Contribution
Dr. Garry Einicke	Chair Joint SP/Comms chapter Queensland Section 2008-2009
Mr. Robert Ellen	Inaugural Chair AESS Chapter Queensland Section 2008-2009

IEEE Queensland Section Volunteer of the Year 2010

Awarded to Mr. Robert Ellen

Thesis prize awards

There were two categories of award for undergraduate theses this year.

- 1. IEEE Queensland Section Student Prize for the Best Final Year Thesis in All Fields of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology was awarded to Alexandra Clare Price from The University of Queensland for her thesis entitled 'Computational Tool for Short-Circuit Analysis of Fault Current Limiters'.
- 2. ICPADM¹ Mat Darveniza IEEE Queensland Section Student Prize for the Best Final Year Thesis in Power Engineering was awarded to *John Quinn* from the

Central Queensland University (CQU) for his thesis entitled 'Implementation of Closed Loop Voltage Control for Medium Voltage Distribution'.

Best Paper awards (Power & Energy Society Chapter)

The IEEE Power & Energy Society (PES) Queensland Chapter Student Conference Travel Prize was awarded to two recipients this year:

- a. Mrs. Mai Huong Nguyen, PhD student, First author of the paper entitled "A Comparative Study of Voltage Stability for Long Distance HVAC and HVDC Interconnection"
- b. Mr. Sudarshan Dahal, PhD student, First author of the paper entitled "Investigations of Small Signal Stability of a Renewable Energy based Electricity Distribution System"
- 5.1 Reports for 2010
- 5.2 Chair's report

Report accepted

- 5.3 Vice-chair's report
 - Report accepted
- 5.4 Treasurer's report

JB presents the financial status of the section. Report accepted

- 5.5 Secretary's report
 - Report accepted.
- 5.6 Educational activities report
 - Report accepted
- 5.7 Newsletter editor's report
 - Report accepted
- 5.8 Student Activities report
 - SL presents report, accepted.
- 5.9 Professional Activities Chair report
 - No report was received.
- 5.10 Women in Engineering Chair report
 - Report accepted
- 5.11 GOLD Affinity Group Chair report
 - Report accepted.
- 5.12 Computational Intelligence Chapter's report
 - Report accepted.
- 5.13 Computer Society's report
 - Report accepted.
- 5.14 Joint Chapter of Control Systems and Robotics & Automation- report No report was received.
- 5.15 Joint Chapter of Microwave Theory & Techniques / Antennas and Propagation report Report accepted
- 5.16 Power and Energy Society's report
 - Report accepted

- 5.17 Joint Chapter of Signal Processing and Communications- report Report accepted.
- 5.18 Aerospace and Electronic systems Report accepted.
- 5.19 Engineering in Medicine and Biology chapter report Report accepted.
- 5.20 Student Chapter activities reports from CQU, GU, QUT, UQ and USQ
- 5.20.1 CQU: Report accepted
- 5.20.2 GU: No report was received.
- 5.20.3 QUT: No report was received.
- 5.20.4 UQ: Report accepted
- 5.20.5 USQ: No report was received.
- 6 Closure-Chair

Meeting closed at 6:45pm.