

2012 IEEE Fifth POWER INDIA Conference

December 19-22, 2012



Conference Report



Deenbandhu Chhotu Ram University of Science & Technology, Murthal, India

2012 Fifth Power India Conference Report

2012 Fifth Power India Conference, being Co-sponsored by IEEE Power Electronics Society, USA, IEEE Industrial Applications Society USA & IEEE PES-IAS Delhi Chapter, & IEEE PELS-IES Delhi Chapter was organised at DEENBANDHU CHHOTU RAM UNIVERSITY OF SCIENCE & TECNOLOGY, MURTHAL, SONIPAT, HARYANA.

The **Conference Theme was** Grid Integration of Renewable & Sustainable Energy Sources. The eight technical sessions were organized to share technological advances and industry interests related to: Industrial Applications, Industrial Electronics, Power Electronics, Power Systems, Renewable energy Sources.

306 manuscripts were submitted to PICONF-2012, of which 169 papers were accepted in the final program and 125 papers were presented. Out of which 21 papers were recommended for IAS publication.

The PICONF 2012 Technical Program was enhanced by tutorials presented by the following high profile keynote speakers:

1. Prof. Bhim Singh, IIT Delhi, New Delhi, "Renewable Energy sources and Grid integration"

2. Prof. S. N. Singh, IIT, Kanpur on "Emerging Trends in Power system"

Keynote Address was delivered by Prof. G Pragesen Pillai, Professor and NSERC/Hydro-Québec

Panel Discussion on the conference theme was presided by Dr. Dushan Boroyevich, President, IEEE Power Electronics Society.

Prof. Rajit Gadh, Director, UCLA Smart Grid Energy Research Center (SMERC), USA delivered plenary talk on Smart Grid by video conferencing.

Dr. Sukumar Mishra, Prof, IIT, Delhi delivered plenary talk on Micro Grids.

Organising committee

Patrons:

Er. H.S. Chahal, DCRUST, India Prof. Bhim Singh, IIT Delhi, India Er. Rajeev Sharma, REC, India Er. N. N. Misra, NTPC, India Er. I. S. Jha, POWERGRID, India

General Chairs:

Prof. Dinesh K. Jain , India Dr. Mukhtiar Singh, India

Technical Chair:

Prof. S. K. Gupta, DCRUST, India

Publication & Publicity Chair:

Dr. Subrata Mukhopadhyay, GTBIT

Advisory Committee:

Prof. Ned Mohan, USA Prof. A. Chandra, Canada Prof. Kamal Al-Haddad, Canada Prof. Arindam Ghosh, Australia Prof. S Williamson, Canada Dr. Vinod Khadkikar, U A E Prof. Saifur Rahman, USA Prof. S. S. Venkata, USA Prof Vijay Sood, Canada Prof. F. Blaabjerg, Denmark Prof. Lalit K. Goel, Singapore Prof. F. Rahman, Australia Prof. T Undeland, Norway Prof. Sanjeev Panda, India Er. R. Malik, India Er. Praveen Kakulte, India Prof. S. P. Gupta, India Er. Sushil K. Soonee, India Er Y. K. Sehgal, India Prof. Pramod Agrawal, India

Local Organizing Committee:

Prof. A. P. Mittal Prof. Mini S. Thomas Prof. G. Bhuvaneswari Dr. Rachana Garg Er. Vinod K. Agrawal Dr. Subir Sen Dr. Prerna Gaur

- Er. S. K. Grewal
- Er. Mukesh Kumar
- Er. Gitanjali Pandove Dr. Surender Dahiya
- Er. Naresh Yadav
- Er. Rajveer Mittal
- Er. Satvir Deswal
- Er. Ravi Gupta
- Er. Ravi Lathwal





















