





2012 IEEE Fifth India International Conference on Power Electronics (IICPE 2012)

December 6th -8th, 2012

Organized at

Delhi Technological University, Delhi, India

REPORT

2012 IEEE Fifth India International Conference on Power Electronics (**IICPE2012**) was held at Delhi Technological University, Bawana Road, Delhi, India from 6th -8th Dec. 2012. The conference is technically sponsored by IEEE PELS society and IEEE-PES society and co-sponsored by IEEE PELS-IES Delhi chapter and IEEE-PES-IAS Delhi chapter. The main financial supporter of the conference is Delhi Technological University besides several other Government organizations, consulting firms and professional Institutes.

The conference is quite a success in the sense that we had received a record number of 321 papers from 10 different countries across the globe. The reviewers for the papers are academicians and professionals from India and abroad. Keeping in view the theme of conference, 207 papers are selected for oral presentation in the conference. Ultimately 159 papers are submitted for uploading to IEEE Xplore, as qualified in terms of requirement of registration, presentation, and Xplore compliance.

The conference has total 24 paper presentation sessions (6 technical sessions and each technical session have 4 parallel sessions), 2 parallel tutorial sessions, a panel discussion on 'Innovations and application of Power Electronics for Sustainability', keynote address and 3 plenary sessions. The Conference Digest and CD of the Proceedings contains all the selected and registered papers and the tutorial notes.

The tutorials were delivered by

1. Prof. Bhim Singh, FIEEE, IIT, Delhi

"Recent trends in Renewable Energy Systems"

2. Prof. Ajit Chattopadhyay, Life Fellow IEEE

"Advances in High Power Industrial AC Drives and Their Control"

Panel Discussion on "Innovations and Application of Power Electronics for Sustainability" Presided by Prof. Dushan Boroyevich, FIEEE, President IEEE PELS.

The keynote address was delivered by Prof. K. Gopakumar, FIEEE, IISc Banglore "Cascaded multilevel inverter fed drives- A recent trend"

Plenary Talks were delivered by

- Prof. Sudip Mazumdar, Univ. of Illinois, Chicago USA,
 "Hybrid Modulation Scheme for Dc-Link-Capacitor-Less High-Frequency-Link Inverters"
- 2. Mr. Meenu Singhal, Rockwell Automation "Variable frequency Drives for Energy savings"
- 3. Mr. Somendra Kumar, Alstom India "SCADA Systems"

The photographs of the conference are available on the following links

6th Dec

lab, https://picasaweb.google.com/112571879842592118393/IICPE20126Dec2012 authuser=0&authkey=Gv1sRgCPLLpKS0mNat1gE&feat=directlink

7th Dec

Lab, https://picasaweb.google.com/112571879842592118393/IICPE20127Dec2012 authuser=0&authkey=Gv1sRgCI-p48nFiPONJw&feat=directlink 8th Dec

Lab, https://picasaweb.google.com/112571879842592118393/December26201202?
authuser=0&authkey=Gv1sRgCNadsJCd7a_a9QE&feat=directlink
8th Dec

Lab, https://picasaweb.google.com/112571879842592118393/December26201202? authuser=0&authkey=Gv1sRgCNadsJCd7a a9QE&feat=directlink

SCOPE OF THE CONFERENCE

Semiconductor Devices

- Switching Techniques, Concepts for low loss switching
- Switch-mode power supplies
- Novel converter topologies
- EMC and power quality

Application of Power Electronics in Power Systems

- Synchronous machines and special generators
- HVDC, Smart grids, FACTS, and Micro-grids
- Power quality and protection (including power factor correction / active power filters)
- Energy efficiency and demand side control
- Distributed generation

Renewable energy systems

- Wind power (on-shore and off-shore)
- Solar PV (including MPP schemes)
- Tidal, wave, Sea, river and hydro power systems
- Energy storage, Fuel cells, batteries, super capacitors and other storage devices

Power Electronics and Machine Control

- Induction, permanent-magnet and reluctance machines, Special machines
- Motion control system
- Design, modelling and Condition monitoring

Application of Power Electronics to Transportation

- Railway electric Systems, Marine propulsion, Aerospace
- Starter / generator systems

• Electric/ fuel cell/ hybrid vehicles

Industrial applications

- Application case studies
- Energy efficiency and Integrated drives

Technical Sponsors and Co-sponsors

- IEEE Power Electronics Society
- IEEE Power & Energy Society
- IEEE PELS-IES Delhi Chapter
- IEEE PES-IAS Delhi Chapter

Financial Supporters

Gold Category

• Delhi Technological University

Silver Category

- Power Grid Corporation of India Ltd.
- Gas Authority of India Ltd

Bronze Category

- Bechtel India Pvt. Ltd.
- Maharaja Agrasen Institute of Technology
- Bhagwan Parshuram Institute of Technology
- AICTE
- State Bank of India

Media Sponsor

How2Power

COMMITTEES

Chief Patron:

Prof. P. B. Sharma, Vice Chancellor, DTU

Patron:

Prof. Moinuddin, Pro Vice Chancellor, DTU

Prof. Bhim Singh, IIT, Delhi

Co-General Chair:

Prof. Parmod Kumar, DTU, India

Prof. Madhusudan Singh, DTU, India

Prof. N. K. Jain, DTU, India

Technical Chair:

Dr. Rachana Garg, DTU, India

Co-Program Chair:

Prof. Narendra Kumar, DTU, India

Dr. Prerna Gaur, NSIT, India

Public Relations & Publication Chair:

Dr. S. Mukhopadhyay, GTBIT, India

Publicity Chair:

Prof. Mini S. Thomas, JMI, India

Co-Tutorial and Workshop committee Chair:

Dr. G. Bhuvneshwari, IIT Delhi, India

Dr. Vishal Verma, DTU, India

Co-Event Management Chair:

Prof. Asok Bhattacharya, DTU, India

Ms. Rajeshwari Pandey, DTU, India

Dr. Narendra Kumar, DTU, India

Treasurer:

Dr. Narendra Kumar, DTU, India

Sponsorship Committee:

Prof. Bhim Singh, IIT Delhi, India

Prof. Parmod Kumar, DTU, India

Dr. V. R. Singh, Director, PDM Group of Colleges, India

Dr. Vishal Verma, DTU, India

Advisory Committee:

Prof. Ambrish Chandra, Canada

Prof. Saifur Rahman, USA

Prof. Lalit Goel, Singapore

Prof. Shiban Kaul, IIT, Delhi, India

Prof. D. P. Kothari, former Director I/C IIT, Delhi, India

Prof. S.P. Gupta, IIT, Roorkee, India

Prof. S.C. Saxena, V.C., JIIT, India

Prof. Ganga Agnihotri ,MANIT, Bhopal, India

IEEE PELS AdCom Representatives:

Prof. Sudip Mazumdar, UIC, USA

Prof. Mario Pacas, Uni-Siegen, Germany

Prof. Prasad Enjeti, TAMU, USA

Organising Committee:

Prof. A. P. Mittal, NSIT

Prof. Smriti Srivastava, NSIT

Prof. Rajeev Kapoor, DTU

Prof. Majid Jamil, JMI

Dr. Pragati Kumar, DTU

Dr. D. K. Jain, DCRUST

Dr. V. K. Chandana, ITS, MTU

Mr. J. N. Rai, DTU

Dr. Suman Bhowmick, DTU

Dr. M. Rizwan, DTU

Ms. Priya Mahajan, DTU

Dr. S. Indu, DTU

Ms. Mini Sreejeth, DTU

Dr. Alka Singh, DTU