<u>Report on India International conference</u> <u>on Power Electronics-(IICPE2010)</u>

Fourth India international conference on Power Electronics 2010 (IICPE-2010) was held at Netaji Subhas Institute of Technology, Sector-3, Dwarka, New Delhi, from January 28 to 30' 2011.

IEEE Power Electronics Society, USA and IEEE Delhi Section are technical sponsors and IEEE PELS-IES and IEEE PES-IAS Delhi Chapter sponsored the conference financially on the seven topics of Power Electronics and its applications in Power Systems, Electrical Machines and Drives and Energy Sources, Semiconductor devices and Control which have bearing on Electrical Industries and Utilities.

Co-Sponsors IEEE Power Electronics Society IEEE Delhi Section IEEE PELS-IES Delhi Chapter IEEE PES-IAS Delhi Chapter Netaji Subhas Institute of Technology, Delhi Numeric Power Systems Ltd., Chennai Delhi Knowledge Development Foundation, Delhi APLAB Ltd. Delhi Technical University, Delhi Guru Premsukh Memorial College of Engineering, Delhi Manav Rachna International University, Faridabad Maharaja Agrasen Institute of Technology, Delhi TTL Technologies Pvt. Ltd. Vidyut Systems, Delhi The conference was inaugurated by Principle Secretary, DTTE, Shree Anand Prakash, on 28.01.11 in the auditorium of NSIT Dwarka at 11:30 am and attended by 300 delegates and researchers. Prof. Raj Senani, Director NSIT, Prof. Ajit Chattopadhya, IEEE Fellow, Prof. Bhim Singh, IEEE Fellow and chair IEEE PELS-IES Delhi Chapter, Dr. V.R. Singh, IEEE Fellow, Chairman IEEE, Delhi section, Prof. P.B. Sharma, Vice Chancellor, DTU, Prof. A.P.Mittal, General Chair IICPE 2010, Dr. Prerna Gaur, Technical Chair IICPE 2010 and 150 delegates from all over the world representing 16 countries were registered delegates. The 125 research papers were presented in 20 sessions in three days.

KeyNote address was given by IEEE FELLOW Prof Bhim Singh, IIT Delhi,bhimsinghr@gmail.com and Tutorial on the topic of "Advances in High Power Industrial AC Drives and their Control," and a Plenary talk on the topic of "Recent Trends in Power Electronics Technology" by IEEE Fellow, Prof. Ajit Chattopadhyay <u>akcee_2000@yahoo.com</u> and other Plenary Sessions by Distinguished Professors and speakers from the Industry, were delivered. The Details of Plenary Sessions ar as below:

Prof. C. M. Bhatia, cmbhatia@hotmail.com; IIT Delhi, Topic: "Role of Active Filters in Power Quality," Prof S. P. Singh, spseefee@gmail.com; IIT Roorkee, Topic: "Applications of Power Electronics to renewable Energy Sources/Generators," Prof S. C. Kapoor, drsckapoor@yahoo.com; MAIT, I.P. Univ. Topic: "Power Electronics Applied to Transmission Projects" Chaudhary and Mr. Parmanand pchoudhury@ra.rockwell.com Rockwell from

Topic: "Integrated Architecture for Automation. and Mr Meenu Automation" Plantwide Singhal msinghal@ra.rockwell.com; from Rockwell Automation Topic: "The advantages and Concerns of AC Drives".

Photographs and other information are on

www.iicpe2010.org

Committees of IICPE2010

Chief Patron Prof Raj Senani Director (NSIT, Delhi, India) **Patron** Prof. Bhim Singh (Dept. of Electrical Engg., IIT-Delhi, India) **General Chair** Prof. Alok Prakash Mittal (Division of ICE, NSIT, Delhi, India) **Technical Chair** Dr. Prerna Gaur (Division of ICE, NSIT, Delhi, India) **Program Chair** Mr. J.B.V. Reddy (DST, India) **Publication Chair** Dr. S. Mukhopadhyay (PES Region representative Asia Pacific, New Delhi, India) **Publicity Chair** Dr. B K Panigrahi (Dept. of Electrical Engg., IIT-Delhi, India) **Tutorial and Workshop committee Chair** Dr. G. Bhuveneswari (Dept. of Electrical Engg., IIT-Delhi, India) **Event Management Chair** Dr. Sukumar Mishra (Dept. of Electrical Engg., IIT-Delhi, India) **Advisory Committee** Dr. Deepak Divan (President - IEEE Power Electronics Society) Prof. Ned Mohan (USA) Prof. B. K. Bose (USA) Mr P S Deodhar (Chair-IICPE2002 and 2004) Mr. R. Chellappan (Chair-IICPE 2006) Dr. M. Arunachalam (BHEL, India) Prof . Ambrish Chandra(Canada)

Prof. B. P. Singh (Dept. of Electrical Engg., IIT-Delhi, India)

Dr. Shyama P. Das (Dept. of Electrical Engg., IIT Kanpur, India)

Dr. C. Chakrovarty (Dept. of Electrical Engg., IIT-Kharagpur, India)

Dr M. K. Soni (Executive Director, MRIU, India) Dr. Prasad Enjeti (Texas Instruments Professor, IEEE Fellow) Prof Ajit Chattopadhyay (IEEE Fellow, India) Prof B G Fernandes (Dept. of Electrical Engg., IIT Bombay, India) Prof R A Gupta (Dept. of Electrical Engg., MNIT Jaipur) **Organizing Committee** Prof. S. S. Murthy (Dept. of Electrical Engg., IITD Prof. J.R.P. Gupta (Division of ICE,NSIT, Delhi) Mr. Mukesh Gupta, Sunurja Dr. Vishal Verma (Department of Electrical Engg., DTU) Dr. Rachana Garg (Department of Electrical Engg., DTU) Dr D K Jain (GPMCE, Delhi) Mrs Neelam Kumar (Aplab India)

Prepared by Dr.Prerna Gaur Technical Chair-iicpe2010 Thursday, March 31, 2011