Young Professional Track

IEEE Young Professionals (YP) Bangladesh co-hosted the Young Professional Track at the IEEE TENSYMP 2020 conference with the IEEE Bangladesh Section. All 463 YP members of the Bangladesh section were invited by email. The YP Track was held on the second day of the conference on Saturday June 6th 2020 in the D217 session.

Dr. Tarao Suzuki,  the Chair of IEEE Region 10 Young Professionals Committee gave the first invited talk in the session. Dr. Suzuki is an Associate Professor, School of Information Science and Technology, Aichi Prefectural University, Japan. Dr. Suzuki talked on “Value and Benefits of IEEE Region 10 YP Program”. He also spoke about the Meetup programs of YP, their value, different YP resources available to the members. Dr. Suzuki emphasized on the importance on recognizing communication styles across different cultures while communicating.

Dr. Nirmal-Kumar C. Nair, Chair, IEEE Region 10 Professional Activities Committee, gave the second invited talk of the session. Dr. Nair is an Associate Professor, Department of Electrical, Computer and Software Engineering, The University of Auckland, New Zealand. Dr. Nair talked about “Students to Young Professionals – Effectively adapting to the transition: Volunteer’s Journey through IEEE : My Professional ‘Home”. Dr. Nair masterfully delivered his talk on his journey to transition to an IEEE leader. He emphasized on the power of listening.

Afterwards, IEEE Bangladesh Section Chair Dr. Celia Shahnaz led an interactive discussion. Dr. Syed Muzahir Abbas (ANZ YP Coordinator, R10), John Benedict Boggala (SA R10 YP Coordinator), Jeet Dagha (IEEE Bombay YP Coordinator), Dr. Sheikh Anowarul Fattah (PES HAC Chair) shared the best practices in YP and how they envision new activities amidst the Covid-19 pandemic. Dr. Syed Muzahir Abbas explained how he served in different conferences and how the sections in Australia and New Zealand helped to mentor the new leaders. Dr. Abbas also mentioned his initiative for internship to promote industry-academia relationship. John Boggala told about his volunteering experience in YP and how it benefited his career. Jeet Daga explained his plan to connect the YP chairs of all 12 sections of India in a virtual meet.

Upal Mahbub, former YP Bangladesh chair, joined the meeting and wished good luck for YP activities. Hossain from HKPU joined the YP track and expressed interest in joining YP events. Azfar Adib joined from Montreal and praised the youth engagement of YP Bangladesh. Imdad Rimon (Toshiba) joined from Japan. Dr. Celia Shahnaz mentioned how industry professionals also sometimes feel the importance of research and technical activities. She emphasized the importance of research and technical activities. Irtiza Hoque (Grameen Phone) also commented how in Bangladesh the industries lack the contribution to research fields. A R M Abdullah Rocky (Former YP Bangladesh Chair and bKash) told about his initiatives to include industry professionals and entrepreneurs in YP activities. Dr. Sheikh Anowarul Fattah (Advisor, YP) told about the challenges of early career and how YP can serve as a platform to mitigate . He said that the industry professionals must prove that IEEE is worthy for the profession to get benefits. Otherwise, if the job does not care about IEEE, it will be difficult to justify the involvement in IEEE.  Dr. Fattah said that IEEE is a technical society, and that is where the value lies for the society.

Finally, Dr. Sajid Muhaimin Choudhury (Chair, YP Bangladesh) shared activities and upcoming events of the YP Bangladesh. Dr. Celia Shahnaz concluded the session with an official photograph and all participants were asked to go to the next invited talk. There were 45 participants in the session from home and abroad. Preethy V Warrier (Madras Section), Rifat Hasan, Md. Siful Islam, Raihan Razeen, Akib Jobayer, S M Sayeeduzzaman, Md Aminul Islam, Akter, Tanvir Hossain, Zeyad, Shehzad, S.M. Masum Ahmed, S K Azmaeen, Md. Abdul Azmain, Liton Chandra Paul, Mohammad Mainur Rahman, Shams Shad, Hasala Dharmawardena (Region 3), S M Masum Ahmed attended the session.