IEEE Power & Energy Society Bangalore Chapter

AGM 2023

Meeting Minutes

AGM 2023 was held on 21st January 2024

Hotel Citadel Sarovar Portico

Power & Energy Society® IEEE PES Bangalore Chapter AGM 2023

Meeting Minutes

Office bearers on the podium

Dr. Chandrasekhar Reddy Atla, Chair

Mr. Satish, Joint Secretary

Mr. Hemanth M, Treasurer



Agenda of the Meeting

- 10.30 AM Registration
- 11:00 AM Welcome Address: Mr. Nitesh
- 11:05 PM Approval of 2019 AGM minutes: Mr. Satish B A
- 11:15 PM Secretary Report: Mr. Satish B A
- 11:30 PM Treasurer Report: Mr. Hemanth M
- 12:00 PM Awards: Mr. Rajashekhar
- 12:15 PM Chair's address: Dr. Chandrasekhar Reddy Atla
- 12:30 PM Student chapter reports : Mrs Ruma Sinha
- 12:45 PM- Proposed slate presentation: Mr. Rajashekhar
- 1:00 PM Open house for Q&A
- 1:15 PM Vote of Thanks: Dr. Chandrasekhar Reddy Atla
- 1. The PES Bangalore Chapter AGM 2023 was attended by 80 members.
- 2. Mr. Nitehs initiated the meeting by welcoming the gathering.
- 3. Mr Satish presented the minutes of AGM 2022. The MoM has been presented for the acceptance.
 - (i) Dr R Nagaraja proposed the acceptance
 - (ii) Dr Jangamshetti seconded the proposal
- 4. Mr Satish B A presented the activities report of the year 2023. He highlighted flagship events organized by IEEE PES, namely

- Women in Power Engineering WIPE
- Young Researchers Meet
- Student Congress
- Industry Academia Conclave

It was proposed to add the activities of college student chapters also under the IEEE PES Bangalore chapter activities.

The secretary report was accepted with amendments

- a. Dr. Balaraman proposed the acceptance.
- b. Dr. Kumudhini seconded the proposal.
- 5. Mr. Hemanth M presented the financial report of the year 2023.
 - a. It was proposed to plan budget at the beginning of the year
 - b. It was suggested to verify if the sponsorship of the global workshop by Bangalore chapter was according to by laws. As per bylaws, Chapter can support PES workshops.
 - c. HPCP award money receipt to be taken up with head quarters
 - d. Mr Rajashekhar proposed the acceptance.
 - e. Dr Sridhar seconded the proposal
- 6. Mr Rajashekhar addressed the gathering & briefed about award selection process for Outstanding Service Award (OSA) for the year 2023 and award committee was chaired by Mr Rajashekhar. Outstanding Service Award was awarded to Prof K. Parthasarathy, rtd Prof from IISc.



7. Mr Rajashekhar briefed about award selection process for Outstanding Engineer Award with greater than 15 years experience for the year 2023 was announced. The awardee was Dr. Padmasri krishnamurthy, ABB.



8. Mr Rajashekhar briefed about award selection process for Outstanding Engineer Award with less than 15 years experience for the year 2023 was announced. The awardee was Dr. Deepaknath Tandur, Hitachi Energy.



9. Mr Rajashekhar briefed about Outstanding Student Chapter Volunteer award 2023 which was conferred to Dr. G Sreeramulu Mahesh, HoD, EEE, GSSS.

Power & Energy Society®



- 10. Dr Chandrashekar Atla addressed the gathering as chair and presented the chapter achievements in the year
 - a. HPCP award of 840 \$
 - b. Won the bid for ISGT 2024
 - c. Briefed about Hingorani awards which is being co ordianted by Bangalore chapter
 - d. Briefed about R10 meet at Thailand attended by Chair-Elect
 - e. Briefed about the R10 chapter chairs meet in Gwalior attended by Chair and Secretary
- 11. Dr Ramkrishna K was invited to address the gathering by the Chair
- 12. Dr Ramkrshna stressed on
 - a. The need to organize more activities by highlighting student chapter activities
 - b. IEEE PES activities not reported in the IEEE Bangalore Section AGM
 - c. Chapter can look into to introduce elections for Chair-Elect in Bylaws
 - d. informed the gathering about Online sessions by subject experts under the program Zonal Expert Lecture Program (ZELP)

- 13. Dr Ruma Sinha was invited to present the student chapter reports of the 4 most active chapters from the 11 reports received.
 - a. Amritha
 - b. BEC Bagalkot
 - c. DSCE
 - d. VVCE



14. Dr. Chandrasekar Reddy Atla briefed the gathering about the selection process of Most active student chapter award and presented to Dayananda Sagar College of Engineering for 2023.



15. Dr. Chandrasekar Reddy Atla briefed the gathering about the selection process of Best student volunteer award and presented to Mr Punith Kumar M from Dayananda Sagar College of Engineering.



16. Dr. Chandrasekar Reddy Atla invited the colleges to submit nominations for Best student volunteer female with in a week from the colleges.

17. Mr. Rajashekhar, Chair presented the slate for 2024

SI No	Name	Organization	Proposed Role
1	Dr. Chandrasekhar Reddy Atla	PRDC	Chair
2	Dr. G. Gurunath	IISc	Chair-Elect
3	Mr. Deepak Krishnan	WRI	Vice-Chair
4	Mr. Satish Ashwath	DSCE	Secretary
5	Mr. Hemanth Mavuloori	Siemens Gamesa	Treasurer
6	Dr. Abhishek Appaji	BMSCE	Member
7	Dr. Mahesh G S	GSSSIETW	Member

8	Mrs. Ruma Sinha	GAT	Member
9	Mr. Nitesh Kumar	DNV GL	Member
10	Mr. Anil D'Souza	BESCOM	Member
11	Dr. Kumudhini Ravindra	Innomantra	Member
12	Dr. J.P.Sridhar	SJBIT	Member
13	Dr. Vinay Kumar Jadoun	MIT	Member
14	Mr. Savyasachi G K	VVCE	Member
15	Mr.Sivapriyan	Sir MVIT	Member
16	Mr.Gokulmuthu	ITRON	Member
17	Mr.Sareer Ahmad	TCE	Member
18	Mr.Jayesh Barve	GE	Member
19	Sandhya R J	OSI	Member
20	Mr.John Benedict	startup	Member
21	Rajashekhar S		Past Chair

18. Mr. Ramakrishana Kappagantu has asked about validity of slate committee as slate committee members are presently outside the chapter operating area. The following resolution was agreed by AGM to form a new slate committee under chairmanship of past Chair, Mr. Rajashekhar. The new slate committee will revisit the slate, and if required proposes the modifications or additions accordingly.

Slate Committee:

Chair: Mr. Raja shekhar

Member: Dr. Nagaraja R

Member: Mr. Sethuraman Ganeshan

As per bylaws, there is no provision for AGM to discuss about the proposed slate. Hence the new slate will be communicated with all PES members through e-notice and 14 days time will be provided fro any comments form members or petitions for any position in slate as per by bylaws.

- 19. House was kept open for members to discuss and provide feedback/Suggestions. Some points & suggestions of this interesting discussion were:
 - (i) Dr Kumidihini Expressed the need to have a common format for student chapter reporting
 - (ii) Students expressed the need to have more student involvement/volunteer in the IEEE PES Bangalore chapter
 - (iii) A BEC student expressed the need for consideration for the best chapter even after being nominated the best chapter the previous year. Chair clarified that, chapter will communicated the information about once the student chapter won the award, the same college will not be eligible for next 2 years similar to OCA (Outstanding chapter Award) for professional chapter, samw will be communicated at the time of call of Awards.
- 20. The session was closed with vote of thanks by Dr Chandrashekhar Atla.

Power & Energy Society®