Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Towards a Safe and Intelligent Automobile – Workshop Series

December 3, 2022 @ 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Event Category:

IEEE Consumer Technology Society (CTSoc) Bangalore Chapter announces a workshop series focused on Automobile industry, with the car having hundreds of consumer electronics components. Safe computing is a key care about in this industry. In the first of the series, we begin with the analysis of the safety stack at different levels, introduced by experts in the industry.

The workshop is targeted at professionals working in Automotive OEMs, Software and Component suppliers, Automotive Suppliers, and Semiconductor manufacturers providing driver and other critical software components.

The first workshop, focused on this industry will introduce the safety stack and latest trends, and will deep dive into the recently standardised Vulkan SC API for safety in the Graphics pipeline.

Post-workshop updates:

The presentation slides for the Functional Safety topic (by Mr. Vasant Kumar Easwaran) is at


Vulkan SC slides



Vulkan SC and Automotive Functional Safety Workshop – Report

Some images from the workshop:


 Dec 3, 2022 Agenda:
9 AM – 9.30 AM – Registration

9.30 AM – 9.45 AM – Introduction to the Workshop, Mr. Arun Shankar, Head of Innovation, Continental Automotive India and Chairman, IEEE CTSoc, Bangalore Chapter
9.45 AM – 10.45 AM – “Safety as in the eyes of the beholder – An Automotive OEM perspective” by Mr. Vasant Easwaran, Sr Manager, Functional Safety, Rivian Automotive (US) – (via video conferencing)
10.45 AM – 11.15 AM
[Coffee/Tea Break]
Vulkan SC workshop – by Mr. Mukund Keshava, System Software Engineer, Nvidia & Mr. Sruthik Patibandlla, System Software Engineer, Nvidia
11.15 AM – 11.45 AM – Introduction to Vulkan
11.45 AM – 12.15 PM – Why Vulkan Safety Critical Profile
12.15 PM – 12.45 PM – Basic philosophy of Vulkan SC
[Lunch Break]
2 PM – 3.30 PM – VulkanSC vs Vulkan (Static Memory, Offline Compilation, Fault Handling)
[Coffee/Tea Break]
4 PM – 4.30 PM – Vulkan SC Workflow
4.30 PM – 5 PM – Code Examples, Q&A


PES University, Ring Road Campus
100ft Ring Road, BSK III Stage, Bangalore – 560085
Dec 3, Saturday
Registration and Fee:
This is an In-person event, and prior registration is mandatory. Seats are limited. Please register at
IEEE members: INR 3500
Non-IEEE members: INR 4000
Student members/Research Scholars: INR 500
Registration fee can be paid by bank transfer to below account,
Account Name: “IEEE Consumer Electronics Society Bangalore Chapter”
Account Number: 30903-38644 (SB Account)
Bank Details: Central Bank of India, 71 Miller Road, Bangalore 560052, India
Bank Branch: Millers Road Branch (Extn.)
IFSC Code: CBIN0282314 (For transfer from within India)
Please update the payment transaction ID in the form. Currently, we do not support any other mode of payment.
For queries, email us at events-ieee-ctsoc at googlegroups.com
Speaker Profiles
Mr. Vasant Kumar Easwaran,  leads the Low Voltage ECU functional safety organization at Rivian. He has played key leadership roles in the past across domains, including SoC and PMIC Functional Safety Architecture contributing to SoC and PMIC devices spanning across two generations of automotive autonomous driving products and the 4th generation of Automotive Cockpit products at Qualcomm. He is proficient in driving product compliance to various parts of the ISO26262:2018 standard. His prior experience includes SoC architecture definition across 3 generations of TI Jacinto family (automotive infotainment), TI TDAx family (ASIL complaint ADAS) of devices.

Mr. Mukund Keshava, is currently working at NVIDIA as a system software engineer in the Tegra Graphics team, focusing on VulkanSC development. Prior to NVIDIA, he was working with Bosch, working on an OpenGL ES based 3D MapEngine.

Mr. Sruthik Patibandlla, is working at NVIDIA as a system software engineer in the Tegra Graphics Team, currently focusing on Graphics drivers for QNX and Safety.

Organizing Committee

Prabindh Sundareson (Nvidia/CTSOC)
Arun Shankar Bhat (Continental/CTSOC)
Dr T Sudarshan (Dean of Research, PES)
Dr Shikha Tripathi (Director, cRAIS and Professor, Department of ECE, PES)
Dr Rajini M (Department of ECE, PES)
Dr Anuradha (Chairperson Department of ECE, PES)
Arun D Naik (Microchip/CTSOC)
Kousik Sankar R (Svashiya Technologies/CTSOC)




PES University

100 Feet Ring Road, Banashankari Stage III, Dwaraka Nagar, Banashankari
Bengaluru, Karnataka India
View Venue Website